Calisa Rhose: Friday Fanfare Welcomes: Karolyn James

Karoly James and  the Brothers of Rock series

How did the writer’s journey begin for you?

I started with Judy Blume books in school and never looked back. I read and I wrote, most of which wasn’t very good writing. A couple years ago I had the opportunity to really pursue writing and I’ve never looked back. I’ve been published over 100 times and have top Amazon lists in several categories and Hot New Releases lists. Right now, I’m working hard on my Brothers of Rock series!

Tell us three things about you-the writer-readers wouldn’t typically know.

1. I’m deathly afraid of spiders

2. I like to write poetry (by hand in a black leather notebook!)

3. I really REALLY like sushi!

It all began when…

I wanted to write about a band. I wanted to capture the band off stage, as separate people, dealing with life, dealing with past demons, and falling in love.

Where did you get the premise for this book?

With All Access, I wanted to put lead singer, Johnnie, in a tough spot. He has a chance to step forward in his personal career but he doesn’t want to hurt the band. Then he meets a woman who doesn’t recognize him and it instantly fascinates him. It’s the first person he’s met in a LONG time who doesn’t know a thing… and he’s willing to share it all with her.

What stands out about this story that made writing it different for you?

I related to the story and the characters SO much. I knew it was going to be a five book series (to start) so I needed to get to know the band and all the stories and characters. I worked for weeks on the background material before typing a single word. I’ve never been so close to a story in my life.

Were there any difficult challenges or special subject matter you came across while writing this book?

The hardest part is connecting all five books. The timeframe, the events, etc. – they all have to match. I have to keep it real, interesting, and dramatic, with the main purpose of romance always present. It’s a ton of work… but so much fun.

What about this book would make us want to read it more than others of similar taste?

Because it’s real. I have experience in the music industry and I’ve been around plenty of rockstars in my life. 😉

What Johnnie goes through is real… the pressure of the band, his life, of being given ‘they keys’ to so much and yet have this beautiful woman not know a thing about him is touching and humbling. It’s almost like a reset button for Johnnie.

Plus, he takes he away to a private cabin for a night that’s romantic and H.O.T.  😉

Ideally, the purpose of the story and series is how the band functions off stage as a group of guy living their own lives.

What do you want readers to take away from this book?

Love is possible anywhere, anytime. That tough decisions lay ahead no matter who you are… and that honesty can trump anything else. Johnnie follows his heart and so does Jess.

Tell us about the finished book. Is there anything special we might not know after reading it?

Well, the biggest thing left in the air is what happens to Jess’s writing career. The cool thing about this series is that the characters will appear in all five books… the more you read, the more you’ll know! 🙂

Where can readers find you and your books?



We’re currently working for paperback distribution and audiobooks.

Karolyn James has been published over 100 times, reached bestseller lists on Amazon, and writes in both romance and erotic romance.  Her two newest series are the romance hit, Brothers of Rock, and the erotic romance series, Rock Her Curves. 

Twitter:  @KarolynWrites




***For fans of Nashville the TV show and Bella Andre, the BROTHERS OF ROCK series is dramatic, sexy, romantic,and entertaining. It sizzles!***
How about a taste of these books for my readers?

With ALL ACCESS, a contemporary romance series explores, life, love, and music. Join the five band members of Chasing Cross as they find that there’s more to life beyond the stage.


Jess is caught off guard when a sexy stranger buys her a cup of coffee and asks her to sit with him. He’s mysterious, nice, and even though he says the right things at the right time, Jess can sense that there’s something hidden about him.
As Johnnie sits across from the beautiful woman, he can’t believe she doesn’t recognize him. Everyone does. It comes with the territory when you’re the lead singer of one of the hottest bands in the world, Chasing Cross. With one more show to go before taking a small break in touring, it feels like luck is on Johnnie’s side. That is, if he can find a way to tell Jess who he is, without scaring her off.
After her best friend begs her to come to a concert, Jess finds herself standing in the middle of a crowd. The lights are off, music begins, and the crowd erupts in cheers. She doesn’t know much about the band, but that’s all about to change. When the lights come on, Jess can’t believe her eyes. The lead singer of the band is the man from the café.
Plucked from the crowd during the show, Jess makes her way backstage. The encore may have ended on stage, but the real show is just about to begin. Johnnie’s passion quickly turns to romance but the more time he and Jess spend together, the more things get complicated. Johnnie has a big decision to make about himself and the band, testing his loyalty and love for the music, and when Jess’s dreams start to come true, she starts to realize that true love exists, but it’s not always an easy path to take.


The second book in the Brothers of Rock series is BROKEN SOUND, where lead guitarist, Davey, is faced with life changing decisions involving love, family, and as always, music.


Rockstars expect women to show up at their hotel room, but when a woman shows up with an infant and tells Davey he is the father, his world is turned upside down. 


Anna is a teacher and part-time waitress, desperate to make enough to pay off debts left to her by an ex-boyfriend who made her life a living hell. When her boss schedules her for an extra shift, he tells her it’s her job to take care of a special guest… lead guitarist of Chasing Cross, Davey. The second Anna meets eyes with Davey, she feels something she’s wanted for a long time. But with someone famous? That’s impossible. Besides, Davey is there with a date.


When Davey returns to the restaurant, sans date, he asks to see Anna. She doesn’t understand what he would want with her. He is a man with a big heart, kind eyes, and the true power that only a real rockstar could have. Then Anna learns the truth of Davey’s life, from his haunted past to his rocky present. Still, she longs to be part of his future.  But when Anna’s own past turns potentially deadly, life and love suddenly collide in a way that could hurt everyone and leave someone dead.


Is there anything else you want to share or add?

I just want to say THANK YOU to all the readers out there. The response for both books (All Access #1 and Broken Sound #2) have been so huge so far that the talks to extend the series beyond five books is getting more and more serious by the day. This is honestly a dream come true for me to have something I have been so passionate about keep readers reading and wanting more!

Thank you for joining me today, Karolyn and sharing what sounds like a wonderful series! I can see my tbr pile tipping with added books. My Kindle will be a happy camper. LOL Good luck with this series and all your writing.

Posted on 05/24/2013, in Blog Tour, Friday Fanfare, Pen of the Dreamer, Promotion, Welcome and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Welcome to the Ranch, Karolyn! I love the sound of this series!


  2. Hi, Karolyn! I love the idea of a series following the guys in the band. I have a weakness for books with rock bands and singers 🙂 These sound awesome. Congrats!


%d bloggers like this: